A Very Messy Shabbat

I think I blew practically everything this week due to a migraine and residual depression (or maybe PMS, not sure), as my house is a disaster area and instead of working from home today so I can take breaks and get things done, I’m here in the office (I have stuff to do today that requires me to be physically present).  At least I have some really delicious smoked turkey pea soup in the freezer for eating on Shabbat.

I feel like I’m backsliding again and I don’t know what to do about it.  Aside from maybe hiring another cleaning lady.  I used to have a friend of a friend help me with cleaning, but she had to quit, and I haven’t had anybody in since.  Meh.  (Interestingly, the Blu Greenberg book I keep mentioning has an entire section devoted to managing one’s hired help, which is a rather astonishing statement of class privilege.  I don’t think I’m as wealthy as her family was in the early 1980s when the book was written; I strongly doubt it.  On the other hand, can I afford to pay someone a hundred bucks a month or so to come to my house a couple times a month and keep a lid on my natural slobbiness?  Why, yes, yes I can.  Damn it feels good to be a gangsta solid middle-class citizen.*)

 This investigational praxis of Judaism has quite a lot of things to recommend it, really.  With any luck, or B”H, I’ll have all the bugs removed before I have to do it “for real.”

 

 _________

* I haven’t been in this position very long.

 

Leave a Reply

