The Most Metal Convert Ever (?)

I have this coworker who is a transferee from Israel (he used to live in Modi’in, if I’m not mistaken).  I think he’s great, and we have a lot in common, so we chat all the time.  He’s another born Jew who is convinced I’m secretly and actually Jewish (not unlike my ex-fiance’s father, and various other folks who have told me over the years that I really have a Jewish soul), which periodically comes up in conversation, as it did today:

RR:  Well, what do you want to do?  But then, you’re Jewish.

SE:  Not yet, but soon.

RR:  Really?

SE:  Really.

RR:  Are you converting Reform?  Or Conservative?

SE:  I’m actually talking to the Orthodox rabbi.

RR:  Really?!  (laughs)  You are hardcore.  You are hardcore.

Rock on, folks.

Leave a Reply

